Davao del Sur

Summary data
Map of the Philippines highlighting Davao del Sur
Island groupMindanao
RegionDavao Region (Region XI)
Highly urbanized cities1
Barangays [note]337
Marine waterbodiesPhilippine Sea
Area (2007) [note]2,163.98 km2 (835.52 sq mi)
Population (2015) [note]632,588
Density (2015) [note]292 / km2 (757 / sq mi)
[note] Figures exclude highly urbanized cities

Davao del Sur is a province in the Philippines situated in the Davao Region occupying the southeastern section of Mindanao. Its capital is the City of Digos.

The province has a land area of 2,163.98 square kilometers or 835.52 square miles. Its population as determined by the 2015 Census was 632,588. This represented 12.93% of the total population of the Davao Region, 2.62% of the overall population of the Mindanao island group, or 0.63% of the entire population of the Philippines. Based on these figures, the population density is computed at 292 inhabitants per square kilometer or 757 inhabitants per square mile.


Davao del Sur is bordered, clockwise from the Northeast, by Davao del Norte, Davao Gulf, Davao Occidental, Sarangani, South Cotabato, and Sultan Kudarat, Cotabato.

Map of the Philippines with Davao del Sur highlighted in redMap of Davao del Sur showing its cities and component municipalitiesBansalanDavao CityDigosHagonoyKiblawanMagsaysayMalalagMatanaoPadadaSanta CruzSulop

Local government units

Davao del Sur has 14 municipalities and 1 city. The total number of barangays in the province is 337. The City of Davao City is commonly grouped with the province, although it is administratively independent due to its distinction as a highly urbanized city.

NameTypePopulation (2015)Population (2010)Annual Population Growth Rate (2010‑2015)Area (2007)Density (2015)Brgy count
Bansalanmunicipality60,44056,4961.29%157.75 km2 (60.91 sq mi)383 / km2 (992 / sq mi)25
Digoscity (CC), capital169,393149,8912.36%287.10 km2 (110.85 sq mi)590 / km2 (1,528 / sq mi)26
Hagonoymunicipality53,30949,1071.58%114.28 km2 (44.12 sq mi)466 / km2 (1,208 / sq mi)21
Kiblawanmunicipality48,89744,6181.76%390.07 km2 (150.61 sq mi)125 / km2 (325 / sq mi)30
Magsaysaymunicipality53,87649,1411.77%268.09 km2 (103.51 sq mi)201 / km2 (520 / sq mi)22
Malalagmunicipality38,73135,2951.78%186.12 km2 (71.86 sq mi)208 / km2 (539 / sq mi)15
Matanaomunicipality56,75551,3821.91%202.40 km2 (78.15 sq mi)280 / km2 (726 / sq mi)33
Padadamunicipality26,58725,7240.63%83.00 km2 (32.05 sq mi)320 / km2 (830 / sq mi)17
Santa Cruzmunicipality90,98781,0932.22%319.91 km2 (123.52 sq mi)284 / km2 (737 / sq mi)18
Sulopmunicipality33,61332,1630.84%155.26 km2 (59.95 sq mi)216 / km2 (561 / sq mi)25
Davao del Sur Total632,588574,9101.84%2,163.98 km2 (835.52 sq mi)292 / km2 (757 / sq mi)337

Historical population

The population of Davao del Sur grew from 223,125 in 1960 to 632,588 in 2015, an increase of 409,463 people. The latest census figures in 2015 denote a positive growth rate of 1.84%, or an increase of 57,678 people, from the previous population of 574,910 in 2010.

Census datePopulationGrowth rate

National roads

As of December 2016, the National Roads in Davao del Sur as classified by the Department of Public Works and Highways are:

Primary Roads

  • Davao-Cotabato Road (Davao City-Junction Digos Section)
  • Davao-Cotabato Road (Junction Digos-Cotabato Section)
  • Digos-Makar Road

Secondary Roads

  • Davao-Sarangani Coastal Road (Malalag-Malita-JAS-G)
  • Digos Diversion Road
  • Digos Junction Road

Tertiary Roads

  • Bansalan-Mount Apo National Park Road
  • Davao-Cotabato By-Pass Road

National rankings

  • Population (2015): 632,588, ranked 45 out of 81
  • Land area (2007): 835.52 square kilometers, ranked 59 out of 81
  • Population density (2015): 292 inhabitants per square kilometer, ranked 24 out of 81
  • Annual population growth rate (2010 to 2015): 1.84%, ranked 17 out of 81


  1. Unless otherwise specified, population count (excluding percentages) and land area figures are derived from the Philippine Statistics Authority.
  2. Maps utilize OpenStreetMap data available under the Open Data Commons Open Database License.
  3. Data on National Roads is from the Department of Public Works and Highways.
(Back to top)