Leyte is an island in the Philippines covering the provinces of Leyte, and Southern Leyte. Major marine waterbodies adjacent to the island include Janabatas Channel, Leyte Gulf, Surigao Strait, Camotes Sea, Samar Sea, and Sogod Bay.

Leyte has an approximate area of 7,175.93 square kilometers or 2,770.63 square miles, and roughly has a coastline length of 952.31 kilometers or 591.74 miles. The island is situated at approximately 10.7840, 124.8923.

Cities and towns

There are 58 cities/municipalities covering the island of Leyte, as shown in the following list:



  1. Land area figures and coastline length were calculated from OpenStreetMap data.
(Back to top)