Tunga, Province of Leyte

Summary data
Island groupVisayas
RegionEastern Visayas (Region VIII)
Barangay count8
Postal code6528
Marine waterbodiesnone (landlocked)
Area (2007)7.70 km2 (2.97 sq mi)
Population (2015)7,584
Density (2015)985 / km2 (2,554 / sq mi)
Coordinates11° 15' North, 124° 45' East (11.2483, 124.7524)
Estimated elevation above sea level56.9 meters (186.5 feet)

Tunga is a landlocked municipality in the coastal province of Leyte.

The municipality has a land area of 7.70 square kilometers or 2.97 square miles which constitutes 0.12% of Leyte's total area. Its population as determined by the 2015 Census was 7,584. This represented 0.44% of the total population of Leyte province, or 0.17% of the overall population of the Eastern Visayas region. Based on these figures, the population density is computed at 985 inhabitants per square kilometer or 2,554 inhabitants per square mile.


Tunga has 8 barangays as shown in the following table.

Demographic profile of barangays
BarangayPopulation percentage (2015)Population (2015)Population (2010)Change (2010‑2015)Annual Population Growth Rate (2010‑2015)
San Antonio11.16%8468005.75%1.07%
San Pedro14.93%1,13296417.43%3.11%
San Roque13.96%1,0599916.86%1.27%
San Vicente12.22%92780914.59%2.63%
Santo Niño15.37%1,1661,02313.98%2.52%
Tunga Total7,5846,51616.39%2.93%

Historical population

The population of Tunga grew from 5,168 in 1960 to 7,584 in 2015, an increase of 2,416 people. The latest census figures in 2015 denote a positive growth rate of 2.93%, or an increase of 1,068 people, from the previous population of 6,516 in 2010.

Census datePopulationGrowth rate


The municipal center of Tunga is situated at approximately 11° 15' North, 124° 45' East, in the island of Leyte. Elevation at these coordinates is estimated at 56.9 meters or 186.5 feet above mean sea level.


Based on the great-circle distance (the shortest distance between two points over the surface of the Earth), the cities closest to Tunga are Tacloban, Ormoc, Catbalogan, Baybay, Bogo, and Borongan. The nearest municipalities are Jaro, Barugo, Carigara, San Miguel, Alangalang, and Capoocan. Its distance from the national capital is 551.60 kilometers (342.75 miles). The following list delineates such distance measurements.

great-circle distance

Nearest towns

  • Jaro, Leyte, 7.36 kilometers (4.57 miles) to the South‑Southeast (S26°E)
  • Barugo, Leyte, 8.64 kilometers (5.37 miles) to the North (N11°W)
  • Carigara, Leyte, 8.95 kilometers (5.56 miles) to the Northwest (N51°W)
  • San Miguel, Leyte, 10.00 kilometers (6.22 miles) to the East‑Northeast (N60°E)
  • Alangalang, Leyte, 11.18 kilometers (6.95 miles) to the East‑Southeast (S66°E)
  • Capoocan, Leyte, 12.96 kilometers (8.05 miles) to the West‑Northwest (N67°W)

Nearest cities

  • Tacloban, 27.93 kilometers (17.35 miles) to the East (S89°E)
  • Ormoc, Leyte, 31.28 kilometers (19.44 miles) to the South‑Southwest (S30°W)
  • Catbalogan, Samar, 60.01 kilometers (37.29 miles) to the North‑Northeast (N14°E)
  • Baybay, Leyte, 63.37 kilometers (39.38 miles) to the South (S4°E)
  • Bogo, Cebu, 83.82 kilometers (52.08 miles) to the West‑Southwest (S75°W)
  • Borongan, Eastern Samar, 84.45 kilometers (52.48 miles) to the East‑Northeast (N61°E)

Distance from Manila: 551.60 kilometers (342.75 miles) to the Northwest (N47°W)

National rankings

  • Population (2015): 7,584, ranked 1,575 out of 1,634
  • Land area (2007): 2.97 square kilometers, ranked 1,622 out of 1,634
  • Population density (2015): 985 inhabitants per square kilometer, ranked 178 out of 1,634
  • Annual population growth rate (2010 to 2015): 2.93%, ranked 128 out of 1,634


  1. Unless otherwise specified, population count (excluding percentages) and land area figures are derived from the Philippine Statistics Authority.
  2. Postal codes are from the Philippine Postal Corporation.
(Back to top)