Map of the Philippines highlighting the regions

The Philippines is subdivided into seventeen (17) regionseight (8) in Luzon, three (3) in the Visayas, and six (6) in Mindanao. These regions are not local government units but their existence is primarily for administrative purposes. Thus in each region, a city is designated as the center where each of the national government agencies have a regional office.

List of regions


Based on the 2015 census, the regions with the highest population are, in descending order, CALABARZON (14,414,774), the National Capital Region (12,877,253), and Central Luzon (11,218,177). Almost 40 percent of the national population are found in these three (3) regions alone. The least populated regions are, Cordillera Administrative Region (1,722,006), Caraga (2,596,709), and MIMAROPA (2,963,360) whose combined populations account for less than 10 percent of the national count.


  1. Data on population derived from the Philippine Statistics Authority.
  2. Maps utilize OpenStreetMap data available under the Open Data Commons Open Database License.
(Back to top)