Map of the Philippines highlighting the location of cities (city center coordinates)

Cities in the Philippines are classified into highly urbanized cities, or component cities. All totaling thirty-three (33), the highly urbanized cities (HUCs) have a minimum population of 200,000 and an annual income of at least fifty million Philippine pesos (50 M). Those cities that do not meet the above requirements are the component cities. The component cities are considered part of the province where they are located. However, there are also cities that are further classified as independent component cities. Their charters prohibit their voters from voting for elective provincial officials and they are independent of the provinces where they are located. There are 107 component cities and only five (5) independent component cities in the Philippines. The latter category are Dagupan in Pangasinan, Naga in Camarines Sur, Ormoc in Leyte, Santiago in Isabela, and Cotabato City.

A component city is created by an Act of Congress and duly ratified by the affected voting population in a plebiscite. The requisites for its creation are an average annual income of at least twenty million Philippine pesos (20 M) for the last two (2) consecutive years, and either of the following:

  • a contiguous territory of at least 100 square kilometers, or
  • a minimum population of 150,000

As regards a highly urbanized city, only the President can declare its creation subject to the approval of the majority of the affected electorate in a plebiscite.

The elected officials of the city government are the Mayor who is the chief executive, the Vice-Mayor, and the Sangguniang Panlungsod members. There are also appointive officials in charge of the various offices in the city government.

List of cities

Highly urbanized cities (33)
Independent component cities (5)
Component cities (107)


Based on the 2015 census, the cities with the highest population are Quezon City (2,936,116), Manila (1,780,148), and Davao City (1,632,991). For component cities, the most populated are Antipolo (776,386), Dasmariñas (659,019), and Bacoor (600,609). Those with the lowest population are Palayan (41,041), El Salvador (50,204), and Vigan (53,879).

By land area, the largest are Davao City (2,443.61 km2 or 943.48 sq mi), Puerto Princesa (2,381.02 km2 or 919.32 sq mi), and Zamboanga City (1,414.70 km2 or 546.22 sq mi), while the smallest are San Juan (5.95 km2 or 2.30 sq mi), Navotas (10.77 km2 or 4.16 sq mi), and Cavite City (10.89 km2 or 4.20 sq mi).


  1. The Local Government Code of the Philippines
  2. Data on population and land area are from the Philippine Statistics Authority
  3. Maps utilize OpenStreetMap data available under the Open Data Commons Open Database License.
(Back to top)